Saturday, 3 April 2010
2 weeks of being a student nurse....
The first week was really boring - just the induction, we had talks about what to do if there was a fire and lots of other people came to talk to us. Made some friends though! kind of annoyed because now i'm stuck with these 2 girls - who are ok but seem really clingy & a bit bitchy so i'm hoping i'll get the chance to branch off from them soon! (it's like being back at school grr)
Then I worked both days at the weekend, it was mad. It's so short staffed and a woman fell because she rang the bell and I was with someone else at the time... but I told her i'd be back as soon as I could. So she only got up herself and tried to reach down to her bottom draw - I came in just as she fell backwards! Quickly ran.. and supported her to the ground. She is having quite a rough time at the moment (she is the one who has skin cancer which has spread to her lymph nodes and theres nothing really they can do) she keeps being sick and stuff aswel. Sad :(
Then this week we started the proper stufff!
First started with clinical skills - hand washing :D we used that cream stuff under the blue light and it showed which bit of our hands we had missed when washing. The nails and the back of the thumbs were the worst parts, it really makes you think.
Next day we had ethics - it is really interesting. About what to do say if a parent refused their child to have a blood transfusion ( because they were jehovah witnesses) and all sorts of things like that! So think i'm gonna enjoy this module :)
Then we had Applied sciences - which is A+P, psyc, socio = it's all online learning now!! Can't believe that. We were just in the IT room and just learning it ourselves.
It's good in one way but bad in another. They said students grades had improved dramatically with the online learning thing.
As for homework - I've had LOADS already.
List of what i've got to do/done:
1) Moving and handling theory(online - 8 units) - DONE - just need to print of certificate.
2) hand washing skills book - need to finish answering questions - halfway there!
3) referencing module online - halfway there!
4) Who am i ( applied sciences homework, you have to say who you are from a bio, pyc sociological point of view! I don't like stuff like that really! )
5) start plan of retrieval of data essay
6) start plan of ethics poster(presentation)
7) phillosphies of nursing (online for Mon 5th)
8) Applied science(make notes & learn - online)
9) ^ scenario assignment - eg on stress from a bio, pyc sociological point of view.
10) ethics guided study - writting about a story that is in the media & you say what your feeling are about it (I did breast screening) - DONE :)
And that's just the first week. lol.
I'm gonna get started on a few of them today! As I will be working tomorrow and saturday next weekend. I'm thinking of booking a flight soon to Chicago :) to see my american chums from last summer! Still gonna have a think about it first though...
Sunday, 21 March 2010
I will be a student nurse this time tomorrow!!! :D
I've been stressing out because I accidentally deleted everything on my laptop like pictures, music and even software eg. internet security, microsoft office etc! I could have cried.
Stil haven't got it back but i've managed to get the internet working
So it's all good now.
Finally started sorting my room out yesterday even though I had a week to do it! Couldn't face it as i have so much crap in my room that needs throwing away. What puts me off it that I have to separate all the rubbish into - paper , cardboard, electricals, plastic, glass and metal! argh so it's gonna take forever.
I managed to do 5 draws! :D which i'm quite proud off.
Things for sale(let me know if you are interested - i'm practically giving stuff away now!)
Psp (never really used) + sims 2 game + ice age film
Mini fridge - never used.
Digital radio - never used
I will post tomorrow and tell you all about my first day :D
Thursday, 18 March 2010
It's finally here - payday :D
( 4 DAYS - Not Long Now! )
Well, what have I done this week so far? feels like absolutely sod all. I couldn't wait to have my week off but it's suprising how much I miss it when i'm not working.
Tuesday 16th March
I went to the gym, swim, sauna & steam room... ahh it was nice and relaxing. I spent around two hours there!
Also my dad's 46th Birthday. I forgot to get him a card so had to rush into town before he came home from work. Also bought him the 5th series of Lost and some sweets. The grandparents came round to sing Happy Birthday etc...and it was quite nice :)
Wednesday 17th March
Had a good day. Took my Nan shopping to Chester(Which is where I am going to University) So I practised driving around again and I think I actually know my way round the city now. Wooo I feel so proud, never thought i'd be able to drive in a city. It always seemed a scary thought for some reason. I didn't even get beeped this time! I showed my Nan the University and which building I would be in, she seemed to like it.
We went for lunch in M&S and had this really nice cheese, bacon & chicken toastie with salad! hmm was so nice! Then we had tea in Mc donalds. My nan and grandad both love Mc Donalds which is really weird as you would think they wouldn't at their age. My nan is 70 and my grandad is 82! I love them both so much and it's nice that i've had the chance to see them lots this week. They only live up the road but it's been hard to actually get the chance to do anything else but eat, sleep & work.
My brother and his girlfriend came to visit yesterday evening and told us how they were getting on in their new flat. Exciting stuff.
Monday, 15 March 2010
Monday Monday....
Woke up around 11am today. Then I did a practise trip to the University, there wasn't many parking spaces at all. I then just drove around the city, got beeped quite a lot but oh well. How else am I meant to learn?
It took me around 50 minutes to get there! Not bad. I did some shopping on the way back aswel.
Now it's 5:10pm and I'm absolutely knackered! Driving really does take it out of you. I'm going to try going to the gym & swimming at LEAST 3 times a week from now on. I managed it last week and the week before so I have to try my best to keep it up.
I also need to start sorting out my room some time soon but for now I think i'm going to be lazy and watch a few 'Grey Anatomy' episodes with a nice cup of tea!
Will post tommorow if I remember!
Sunday, 14 March 2010
Time has really flown by!
I am very excited but also a little nervous! I'm more scared about driving in the city more than anything and parking! I'm going to do a few practise trips this week to get used to it!
i've got the whole week off work next week, so i'm going to sort a lot of stuff out! i'm gonna be moving house with the parents in a few weeks! My brother just moved out with his girlfriend yesterday. It makes me want to move out again.
I'm still considering moving out, i'm not sure though. As I would save a lot if I lived at home for the 3 years. I really want to move abroad as soon as I finish my training so if I want to do that I have to save as much as possible!
I have forgotten my password which is why I haven't posted a blog in a long time so now it's been reset i'll try and update more often! :)
Monday, 15 February 2010
Happy Valentines Day! Haaaa
I have 1 MONTH, 1 WEEK untill I start my course! Excited? yes, very much! I can't wait to just get back into the classroom to be honest. Although working in the care home has helped me grow up A LOT and work with people of all ages! And i'm so glad I didn't just rush into Nursing and that I took a year out because I think I would have really struggled with the placement side otherwise!
I have started a NEW forum for anyone who is interested in Nursing! its http://nursing.ohmylife.net/
Only started it about 2 days ago so still needs quite a lot doing to it! I need more members to get it going - so please join and post topics etc..! If anyone is interested in being a mod please let me know! :)
After my little bump in the car - it had finally been picked up to have it repaired! (11 days ago!) I'm really missing not having my car :(
They said I may get it back in a few days!!! I hope so! It's really hard trying to get lifts to and back to work! grr
I'm really into LOST at the moment! I have watched all 3 series and waiting for the 4th boxset to come! woo.
Also started on Gossip Girl too! Haha you can tell i'm bored with out my car! Its so isolated where I live that you have to have a car really - I live right in the country down a long lane and even when I walk up the lane it comes out on a dual carriageway! so nowhere to go! The nearest bus stop is about 2-3 miles away! cant be arsed walking when its that far!
Right i'm gonna go and do something!
Holamigo!
Saturday, 30 January 2010
Not a very nice day at the care home. . .
Hello! 1 month, 2 weeks and 6 days!!!
I worked 7.30am until 6.00pm yesterday, also worked til 9.30 pm the night before so I didn't get much sleep in between. The day started off with me being paired with another carer who was so patronizing and kept putting me down all the time! I hate carers like that so much. There had to be two of us to help three of the residents get up and dressed. She did things so fast and was really rough with them and it made me feel like just because I wasn't at the same pace as her that I wasn't as good!
For example, she said 'comb his hair for me' and so I did it gently and at a normal pace! She was like 'you can do it harder than that you know! ' she said the same thing when I was washing one of the residents.. I can't help it if i'm a gentle person! She goes ' young people these days hey! ' and kept showing me up in front of the residents saying 'she's only a young girl' and stuff like that. She told me to take one of the residents to the toilet which I did, I was standing outside with gloves on while she was still in there... then she goes ' you can get 'Mrs blank' up from the table while you're waiting you know! ' So I went to get her up and she goes ' seee you can do two things at once!' the b i t ch!
First of all, she was already in there cleaning up and she could have done it herself and second because I had gloves on and the woman who I took to the toilet is quite quick & doesn't like being left on her own for a long time so I was about to go back in !!
It really annoys me as I'm 20 years old and I don't think my age has anything to do with how capable I am! Just because i'm not as fast and rough as she is! I've not been working in the care home for long but long enough that I'm not shadowing people anymore and getting them up by myself, she made me feel like it was my first day or something! And how she kept telling me to do things? I mean yes at first I got told all the time but I have worked there for 4 months and I know the routine and how to do things now! Yes, I take my time doing them because I want to get it right! She just made me feel so useless and like I shouldn't be doing that job! i've never felt like that before, most of the other staff are lovely though!
Later in the afternoon it went from bad to worse! I was in the lounge/dinning room and was just cleaning the tables after dinner. One of the residents started choking! I went over and she wasn't even coughing or anything she just couldn't breathe at all and was turning a funny colour! She started to get up from her chair and walk towards me even though I told her to try and sit down. It was like she was trying to wave to me with her hands for help! It was so scary because it's the first time i've been in a situation like this on my own and she looked so close to death! I quickly hit the emergency button and the others came running as fast as they could.It really shook me up though and I burst into tears afterwards! and so did other staff members & even the manager had tears!:/ I felt like right idiot though and I should have coped with it better! When she was choking I kind of froze for a few seconds then thought should I press the emergency button or not and I looked at her and thought 'this is definitely an emergency' and pressed it!
Also earlier in the week I found out that one of my favourite residents has got skin cancer! :( and that it has spread to her lymph nodes! They gave her the option to amputate her leg which she refused or to have radiotherapy which will just probably make her a bit longer. It's very sad. She also has parkinsons and diabetes! I said to her how do you feel about it and she just said it hasn't really sunk in yet. Which I can understand. I had a little cry on the way home, I have to let it out otherwise it'll all bottle up inside.. no of my friends my age really understand so I can't really talk to many people about it. That's another reason I can't wait to start nursing to have people who actually understand how hard it is emotionally.
I've got 4 days off now yey! So going to relax. I went to see JLS in concert on wednesday night they were really good! :) I forget sometimes that i'm still young and I get caught up in all of it. I still need to enjoy these days otherwise I might regret it one day. . .
About Me
- Holamigo!
- Hey, I've recently turned 20 years old... god I feel old. lol I have a place for adult nursing for March 2010! I'm just counting down the days. I love travelling. I spent the summer in America for nearly 3 months, had an amazing time. One day I will work as a nurse abroad - well that's my dream anyway :)